NE Foundation For PT


The mission of the Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy is to foster and promote the advancement of the physical therapy profession, and promote research to enhance the quality of Physical Therapists/Physical Therapist Assistants who deliver the services for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of movement dysfunctions. 


Donations to the Foundation support the conduct and dissemination of research done in Nebraska.


Click on one of the following amounts complete a one-time donation today!

$25   $50   $75   $100   $250   $500

Click here to download the donation form. The printable form can be used if you'd like to pay by check or if you'd like to pay in denominations not offered online. 


Terry Grindstaff
[email protected] 


Duane Wade
[email protected]

Liz Wellsandt
[email protected] 

Gail Jensen

Duane Wade

Wayne Stuberg

Ryan Mettler

Jennifer Bagwell
[email protected]  

Luke Collin
[email protected] 

Sonya Irons
[email protected] 

Mark Sunderman
[email protected]


The Wayne Perdue Fellow has been established as a memorial to Wayne as well as to recognize those members who have exhibited exceptional support to the Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy. The Foundation has grown greatly because of this support and recognizing those responsible is indeed most appropriate. The Foundation wishes to extend its appreciation for all the past and future support.

Membership as a Wayne Perdue Fellow is met when one has contributed a total of five hundred dollars to the Foundation. This is an accumulated total and not a one time amount. We would like to encourage all members to work towards membership as a Wayne Perdue Fellow.

Membership as a Wayne Perdue Fellow will be made at the spring conference. Members will be presented with a membership certificate, plaque and medallion.

Silver Membership into the Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy is reached when one has contributed $2,500 to the Foundation. This is an accumulated total and not a one time amount.

Gold Membership into the Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy is reached when one has contributed $5,000 to the Foundation. This is an accumulated total and not a one time amount.

Corporations are awarded a Friend of the Foundation Corporate Award when contributions reach the $10,000 level. This is an accumulated total and not a one time amount.

2019 Wayne Purdue - NPTA Annual Conference


The Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy Board of Directors has allocated up to $5,000 per project for research by physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students in physical therapy. Criteria for selecting recipients and priorities for awarding of funds are established by the Foundation Board of Directors.  The Research Advisory Committee reviews applications and makes recommendations to the Foundation Board of Directors for final approval.

Submission Deadlines

The deadline for submission of materials occurs three times each year, February 15, June 15, and October 15. The entire application packet should be submitted as a PDF and e-mailed to [email protected] by midnight the date of the submission deadline. Applications received after the deadline will be reviewed during the next application cycle. Applications will be reviewed on the following timeline.

If you have questions please contact Dawn Venema, PT, PhD at [email protected]


Julie Peterson, PT, DPT, WCS

Terry Grindstaff, PT, PhD, ATC, SCS

Shana Harrington, PT, PhD, MTC, SCS

Greg Karst, PT, PhD

Kathy Volkman, PT, MS, NCS

Heather Knight, PT, DPT, NCS, CBIS  l  Abstract

Application Due Date Applicant Notification Earliest Start Date    
February 15 April 1 May 1    
June 15 August 1 September 1    
October 15 December 1 January 1    



The NFPT Scientific Dissemination Award was created in 2013 by members of the Nebraska Foundation for Physical Therapy Board to support members who plan to present their original research at a regional, national, or international professional meeting. The maximum award per application is $1500, and the application cycle is on a rolling basis. 


Or, download and print your Application

Nebraska Foundation PT Scientific Dissemination Award Reimbursement Form


  • Sam Morton, Creighton University
  • Jessica Niski, Creighton University
  • Kristen Topliff, UNMC  
  • Gib Willett, UNMC
  • Terry Grindstaff, Creighton University
  • Betsy Becker, UNMC
  • Marisa Johnson and Taylor Majerus, UNMC
  • Marcus Palimenio, Creighton University
  • Haley Hansen, UNMC
  • Sonya Irons, Madonna Rehab Hospital
  • Macy Kimminau, Creighton University
  • Lauren Bauer and Marissa Gradoz, Creighton University
  • Mollie Hope, Madonna Rehab Hospital
  • Kelly Nelson, Creighton University
  • Keriann Shaw, UNMC
  • Kimberly Beran-Shepler, DPT, OCS, Creighton University
  • Allison White, SPT, Creighton University
  • Lauren Bauer and Marissa Gradoz, Creighton University
  • Stacy Wong, Creighton University
  • Tony Rost and Mitchell Thompson, UNMC
  • Mark Bertch, Regis University
  • Elizabeth Wellsandt, UNMC
  • Ruth Maher, Creighton University
  • Cara Morrison, Creighton University

Scientific Dissemination Awardees Tony Rost, SPT (center) and Mitchell Thompson, SPT (right) present their poster “Valuation of Scholarly Activities for Physical Therapy Faculty” at the 2019 American Physical Therapy Association’s Combined Sections Meeting 2019. Also pictured is Betsy Becker, PT, DPT, PhD, their faculty advisor for this project.

Scientific Dissemination Awardee Mark Bertch, PT, DPT, OCS, CSCS presents his poster 
“Management of an Inversion Ankle Sprain: A Case Report Incorporating External Evidence into Clinical Reasoning” at the 2018 American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists (AAOMPT) Annual Conference.


Mark, Sonya and Duane recently presented a check for $5000 from the NE Foundation of Physical Therapy to Ian and Bridget at Southeast Community College for the purchase of new equipment for the PTA lab in the new Health Sciences Building.

Committee Resources